Film: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

fantastic-beasts-sequel-03aug16

Click here to learn more about it.

Warning: may contained minor spoilers.


While reading Harry Potter and The Curse Child gives me nostalgic sensation, watching Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them gives me very different feeling. This movie throws you into completely different magical world in different era. It feels like you are back to stage one.

(P.S. my friend chided me because I grinned so wide when theme song of Harry Potter started playing even before the movie officially began. Well, I couldn’t help it, haha).

Welcome to magical community in America!

Eddie Redmayne is the perfect choice to play Newt Scamander. He potrayed the Hufflepuff in Newt accurately: awkward body language, gentleness for the beasts and kindness toward strangers. I think Newt is my favorite Hufflepuff.

The rest of characters are new, so it’s hard for meΒ  to tell about their characters in particular. But, my favorites, of course, our foursome main protagonists. Porpentina or Tina Goldstein (Katherine Waterson) is badass auror but also kind-hearted. I really want to know more about her background history. Relationship between her sweet beautiful Legillimens sister, Queenie Goldstein (Alison Sudol) and the only No-Maj in the group, Mr. Jacob Kowalski (Dan Fogler) are lovely but also funny in some way. Madam President Picquery (Carmen Egojo) has very charismatic aura, Credence is sad and tragic (I’m sorry Ezra Miller, I didn’t realize that was you until I saw credits film. The make up is truly magical) and last but not least, Grindelwald (Johnny Depp) is somewhat scary and mysterious. What he did in America is riddle and I expect Albus Dumbledore to make appearance in next movie.

As for the beasts, I really adore the mischievous Niffler, hahaha. I wish I could have one as a pet but yeah, like Hagrid ever told Ron (in 4th book: Harry Potter and Goblet of Fire), Mom will be furious if any her silverware is missing. We saw some of creatures from original Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them book and learn about how wizards and witches misunderstand them. I don’t know why but I see a lot of Hagrid in Newt.

fb-final-trailer-niffler
Newt andΒ Niffler

I can see the production gave a lot of thought into make up, costumes and set. The atmosphere of 1950s is palpable. MACUSA is magnificent. Magic and spells are familiar, like Accio, Alohomora and Revelio.

There are many questions from Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them: why Newt was expelled from Hogwarts? Who was Leta Lestrange? What happened to Grindelwald later? Why America was so strict about the regulation of secrecy statue and No-Maj? Why also No-Maj started campaign to hate magic? And so on. But we have to be patient until JK Rowling writes the next screenplay for them.

I come to watch this movie without any expectation since I know it will be very different from the original book. But after I watch it, now I have some expectations for the next movie: to see Ilvermorny School of Magic, more fantastic beasts (Kappa, sphinx or vampire, perhaps) and history of Albus Dumbledore and Gellert Grindelwald. Please, make it happen, Warner Bros!

So guys, what are you waiting for? Aren’t you curious to saw Wizarding World of America? Go grab your tickets, now!

2 thoughts on “Film: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Leave a Reply

